{Never Ending}

2 Corinthians 4:16:  Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.

Do you recall the day someone told you that you have an obnoxious laugh, that your style in clothes was odd, or that you were annoying and your opinions were stupid?

I’ll bet you remember it perfectly.

Now, every time you start to laugh at a joke, you hold yourself back. When you get dressed in the morning, you double check to make sure you fit with the trends. You never disagree with anyone and keep your mouth shut half the time.

During each one of these incidents, their words still ring in the back of your mind.

I let their words in. I let them get the best of me. — Worth it by Cimorelli

For many of you, insecurities fill your mind every day. Your hair is the wrong type or color, you’re not skinny enough, you have too many pimples; basically, you believe you’re a waste of space

So, you try to find a way to cope.

You change your appearance. You keep yourself busy. You lose weight. You act out. You refuse to let yourself cry.

Everything should be perfect then, right?

Wrong.

Pretty girl, don’t need to hide the part of you that you don’t like. Turns out, it’s my favorite thing about you. — Freckles by Maddie Wilson 

You’re still depressed, and you don’t know why. It’s never enough for anyone, and you still aren’t happy with yourself.

Oh, darling, you were never meant to change. You cannot find your fulfillment in what other people think; it’s a never-ending search. However, our fulfillment comes from God our father. Everything else will end in hurt, pain, and disappointment.

Psalms 139:14a: I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made.

He made you: your smile, your laugh, your complexion, your style, your weight, your height, your personality, your talents — the Bible tells us we were even made in God’s image.

Song of Songs 4:7: You are altogether beautiful, my darling;
    there is no flaw in you.

In God’s eyes, everyone is beautiful. Think of yourself as God’s work of art. He spent time on you, crafting every part of you.

Romans 6:23: For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

And when you get saved, your sin has been wiped clean.

I know this is a thing that a lot of people struggle with insecurities. Sometimes, it originates from people’s words. Their insults stick to us and we remember them for a long time. Even after they’re practically forgotten, we still feel insecure.

When things get hard, we try to find ways to cope, but at the end of them, they never seem to work. However, God gives us our worth, and can I say: you all are very, truly amazing. Like a piece of a puzzle — when one goes missing, the whole picture is ruined.

I hope you enjoyed this second person story/poetry/Bible verse/song lyric compilation! Share your thoughts in the comments below.

~Josie

Author: Josie

Hello! I'm Josie, a fourteen-year-old enfp blogging to share her journey in life. I'll be posting about my faith as a child of God, my adventures in writing, my passion for music, and much more!

16 thoughts on “{Never Ending}”

  1. I love this, Josie! Over time I’ve learned that it’s better to look not he bright side of things. Instead of thinking that my feet are too big, I think how beautiful they look when I dance. Instead of thinking my nose is too arched, I think that it is regal. There are ways to find the beauty inside of yourself. Instead of thinking that I’ too short, I think that it makes it easier to curl up in chairs to read a good book. Sometimes it takes other people to help you see that, but if we really try we can see our beauty all by ourselves.
    Just some thoughts. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. So so true, girl. I totally love how you created this. What’s outside is only earthly things and doesn’t matter nearly as much as what’s inside. God created you for who you are, and He never makes mistakes. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautifully written! People’s cruel and (sometimes idiotic) words can have so much power over us, so it’s vital that we brush them off and look to the Lord for our true value and identity!

    Also, I’ve recently started my own blog. I would be honored if you’d take a look and would love it if you had any advice for me!

    Thanks 🙂

    https://celinakayblog.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! A lot of people don’t realize the gravity of the things they say. I would love to look at your blog — my biggest piece of advice would be to be yourself. It sounds cheesy, but a lot of times we like to create illusions of ourselves online because we can, but it’s so much better to be ourselves.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

